Our Response to COVID-19

Important Notice

In response to the ongoing coronavirus global pandemic, and following extensive consultation with different stakeholders, the Boards of the AAS and IAFOR have jointly decided to postpone the AAS-in-Asia 2020 conference to August 31 to September 02, 2020, offering the conference both onsite and online. Both the AAS and IAFOR take these decisions in the hope and expectation that a further two months will allow more time for the situation to continue to return to normal in Asia, and for travel restrictions to be relaxed, and in the knowledge that the work of many presenters is time-sensitive.

On-site and Online

Our commitment to you; academics, scholars and educators around the world, is to continue to run the AAS-in-Asia Conference, but in the full knowledge that in these unprecedented and changing times, we must engage as much as is possible online, allowing all those who cannot travel, or who choose not to travel, for whatever reason, the opportunity to present and participate remotely. We will be live streaming plenary and featured addresses, scheduling special sessions, facilitating discussions and interviews, and encouraging as much online interaction as possible.


Given the uncertainties surrounding travel restrictions and evolving government responses to the coronavirus pandemic, we are aware that delegates’ plans may be subject to change beyond their control. IAFOR and the AAS will, therefore, be as flexible as we can on our side to allow delegates to switch registration types between “on-site” and “online” depending on their circumstances, up until one month before the conference, so that you can be assured that you can still present and participate, whatever your situation.

We will extend the Early Bird deadline registration deadline to May 31, 2020, and the final registration deadline to July 15, 2020.

We appreciate your continued understanding and support in these very difficult times.

Warmest regards,
Christine Yano, AAS President
Joseph Haldane, IAFOR Chairman